Into the Tundra

my adventures in northern indiana

Because it’s looking like this needs to be recorded.

So, I decided to take the plunge and start a blog about our adventure of moving from South Carolina to Indiana. Why? What’s the big deal…well, it’s starting to look like this might be a pretty amazing story. God is moving in ways unimaginable and I am feeling the need to tell the “world!” (shoot, just the fact that I said I was willing to go is God moving! :p) Now, where to start……..

I guess it all began in June 2010, when the in-laws left and moved to Indiana. Before that, everything was perfect. Maybe I need to go back even further…

I grew up in North Western PA. Cold…lot’s of cold. And lot’s of snow. I was not a fan. Dennis and I got married July 14, 2007 and I was whisked away to the sunny south. Now, this is where it gets perfect.

I missed my family terribly, but Dennis’s family did an amazing job of taking me in and making me feel like I was part of the family. I also quickly fell in love with everything about South Carolina. The pine trees, the lakes, the mountains and most importantly, the sunshine!

In June of 2010, Dennis’s family made the move to Indiana. Many different things pulled them there, but the number one reason was the calling of God. That, is a whole other equally amazing story…one that you should probably hear one of them tell.

After they moved, Dennis and I were sure that we would never make the same “mistake.” We did miss family, however, and went over the pros and cons of moving many, many times. We started to pray about whether we should consider moving or not, but even while we prayed, we were still certain we would stay in our little blue house on the dirt road.

I remember very clearly when we went to visit both our parents this past Christmas both of us saying that we will be staying in the South. But, it seems God has other plans in mind.

Honestly, at this moment, I can’t even remember for sure when we started really thinking about moving. I do remember at one point telling Dennis that we should just put a sign in our yard and pray that if we’re supposed to move, the house will sell and if we aren’t supposed to move, it won’t sell.

So, that’s what we did. We called the Realtor that we bought the house from and he put the house online at 11 PM on this past Monday night. The next morning he called me and told me that we had our first showing for Wednesday evening. By the end of the day Wednesday, we had shown the house four times……..

Now, I’m afraid that this is where the story must end for now.What exactly is so amazing about that, you may ask? Well, I guess you’ll just have to wait and find out! 🙂

5 comments on “Because it’s looking like this needs to be recorded.

  1. Grace Hershberger
    April 14, 2012

    I will miss you – LOTS. But being in God’s will is sooooo important. It gives Peace!

  2. Cathy
    April 16, 2012

    Indiana?!! Where in Indiana?

    • mrsmiller714
      April 16, 2012

      Middlebury IN! 🙂

      • Cathy
        April 22, 2012

        Wow! That’s great! Do you have a church picked out?

  3. mrsmiller714
    April 22, 2012

    Cathy, we’ll be going to Pleasant Grove. We have a few friends there and Dennis’s parents have been going there since they moved up last June.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2012 by in Faith, God Moving.

Navigation

