Into the Tundra

my adventures in northern indiana

See the reasons why I love SC

Ah, spring. There is nothing quite like spring in the South. Once the daffodils start blooming, it’s just one thing after the next. Trees, flowers…everything comes alive with color. Maybe it’s just that I didn’t notice such things while I still lived in PA, but spring in the South is amazing!

I am a history buff. History was one of my favorite subjects in school and I absolutely love the way the South preserves history. Every time I turn around there’s something else amazing that happened right close to where I live. I love that!

Is it odd that I love the field across from my house so much? Probably, but I still do. I even love the goats that inhabit said field. And I love the dirt road that leads to my house. I also really love that my little piece of country is only five whole minutes away from the Dollar General (I should totally have a picture of the good, ol’ DG)!

I have an indescribable love for the mountains. I think my husband thinks I’m crazy whenever we are driving the 11 hours home from visiting my parents and I exclaim “there are the mountains! They’re so beautiful!” Ah, dear, sweet, beautiful mountains…is there any way you can reach into Indiana?

Cotton. Just one of those things that I didn’t see until I moved down here, so it intrigues me.

You wouldn’t believe how many people I have heard say that they think the pine trees are ugly. This is just a crime!! Pine trees are majestic and mysterious and there isn’t anything quite as beautiful as the sun streaming through the pine trees. I shall miss them, I shall.

 And last (on this list), but certainly not least. The lakes. Now, when I say “the lakes,” I am talking mostly about the ones (or one, I really have no idea!) up in Seneca. I have such fond memories of driving up there to clean in the early morning and seeing the sun coming up over the lake. No matter what the weather, there was beauty to be seen.
My list of reasons for loving the South could go on and on…..the friendly people, the sunshine, the southern accent, the warmth, the laid back nature…did I mention that it’s warmer down here!? 🙂 But, while I say all of this, I have to admit that there are benefits to the North. And I will also say that while I will always treasure my memories of the South (and beg Dennis to take me on vacation inside it’s borders), I plan on embracing Indiana and finding many things to love about it as well. So…cheers to Indiana (and the cold???). 🙂
4 comments on “See the reasons why I love SC

  1. Sarah M.
    May 3, 2012

    I know what you mean about the mountains. Oh, how I missed those Colorado mountains when I moved back to flat Indiana!

    • mrsmiller714
      May 3, 2012

      Oh, I would love to see the Colorado mountains! I love the smokies, but they’re not anything like what Colorado has! Really makes IN look boring :p

  2. carmen yo sista!!
    May 3, 2012

    you made me weepy! those are the things that i miss the most. the mountains, the cotton, the tall, tall, whispering pines, the water everywhere. sigh. it was good to see pictures of it though. love you so much shelle can’t wait to see you in three weeks!

    • mrsmiller714
      May 3, 2012

      Carm, I literally laughed out loud at the “yo sista.” 🙂 I can’t wait to see you in three weeks either. And we will see the beauty of IN through our cameras while discussing just how blessed we were to have had the privilege of living in the South for awhile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
