Into the Tundra

my adventures in northern indiana

Time to Update

Time keeps on moving…

Since the last time I posted, we moved into the trailer, my parents came to visit, one in-law got engaged and another started dating, I started my job and Dennis changed jobs. We’re settling in to Northern living, making friends and learning more about the area every day. Honestly, I expected that I would have to fight with myself to like Indiana. “Happiness is a choice. Focus on the good,” I kept quoting to myself. But it hasn’t been as hard to like Indiana as I thought it would be.

I do miss South Carolina ((a lot)). I miss the Southern way of living, the mountains and the lakes, my friends…but I am realizing that Indiana has a lot to offer as well. My little sister asked me if I liked it better then South Carolina; I don’t know if I’ll ever like it better, South Carolina stole a piece of my heart; but I don’t dislike Indiana. South Carolina and Indiana are so completely different that you can’t hardly compare the two. Both are good in their own ways. Now, I may feel completely differently about all of this after the snow starts to fall! Then I’ll really be chanting “focus on the good!” đŸ™‚

Now, for friends in South Carolina, you may be wondering what life looks like for us now. The average day looks something like this:

Dennis and I get up at 5:00 and Dennis leaves for work. If I work that day (I work 3-4 days a week right now), then I stay up and do laundry and whatever else might need done before I leave. On days that I work in the toy store, I am usually there by myself so I open at 10:00 and close around 5:00. Working at a toy store is a lot of fun. I feel like I still have a lot to learn, but I’m getting it figured out. Back to Dennis, he works at a factory setting cabinets, usually until 3:00 and then he goes back to Epco (the business our landlords have) and works there until 7:00. I usually get home sometime around 6:00. We have supper after Dennis gets home and then go to bed. Dennis has off Saturdays so he mows lawn and does other things around the house then. He is loving having every Saturday off.

Other then work, we eat, sleep, go Church, hang out with the family and all that other good stuff. It’s pretty busy. We had a feeling we would be busier after we moved. The Northernand Southern way of livingis just different. But we are enjoying it.

Life is crazy, life is good…

One comment on “Time to Update

  1. Grace Hershberger
    August 29, 2012

    Vacation time may look good next summer! I know you would rather be busy than have nothing to do though.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
