Into the Tundra

my adventures in northern indiana

Driving

It’s funny how just when you think that you’ve mastered that thing that has a hold on your life…that trial that keeps haunting you…that hard thing you had to go through. JUST when you think you’ve gotten it figured out, it smacks you upside the head, punches you in the gut and knocks you off your feet. And suddenly you find yourself sobbing all over again, fighting like your life depends on it and trying to figure out how you got here AGAIN!

If you know me at all, you’ve probably heard me say that happiness is a choice. That it’s all in your perspective and what your focus is on.

It’s like, you’re driving down the road and suddenly a storm comes in and blows that thing right up against your windshield so that all you can see is that ugliness you had been struggling with. And in that initial panic that ensues after you realize you can’t see the road, you forget that Jesus is sitting right beside you and no matter how dirty the windshield gets, He can see right through it. And He’s just waiting for you to turn your eyes to Him so He can tell you where to go.

Just to be completely honest, right now I’m in the stage of the process where I keep doing the back and forth thing. I keep wanting to stare at the ugliness of my hard thing and wallow in self pity, but I also want to keep my eyes on Him. And through all the head jerking, Jesus just keeps quietly calling my name and waiting. The one thing I do know is that no matter how many times I glance at that ugly thing, I WILL keep turning back to Him until I can keep my face on His and clearly hear his voice.

Happiness is a choice, and I choose to see the things He has blessed me with. It’s all in what you focus on, so I will turn my eyes to Jesus over and over again!

And may you, my friend, also be able to turn your head away from your hard thing, whatever that may be, and focus completely on Jesus. Because it’s so much easier to travel the road of life when we’re getting directions from Him. Shoot! That’s true even when the windshield is clean!

One comment on “Driving

  1. Lucy
    April 29, 2014

    I.get.this. I love you. I pray that he will hold you tender while you ache.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
